Home = Heart Is

June 5, 2007 at 10:58 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

Our circuitous route to the east coast and back has taught me one thing: home is less about the where and more about the who. James and I have been re-establishing our KC roots over the last few weeks, and it’s reaffirmed in my mind our decision about moving back. Tonight I had dinner with my college friends Matt and Jenny, and it was just like old times. I discovered Matt’s wife Carli works near me, so I’ve got a new lunch buddy. While we were out, our friend Christie called us. None of us had talked to her since the birth of her daughter a few weeks ago. She told us she had gone through an unbelievable 36 hours of labor! In return, though, little Maya has been fairly quiet and not too fussy. So far.

In a social mood, after I got home tonight I called up another college friend of mine who’s now living the good life in San Francisco. I’m hoping to hit him up for a visit next year. I’ve never seen SF, and I hear it’s a lot of fun.

In TV news, The Riches delivered a superb season finale last night. I continue to be astounded by Minnie Driver and Eddie Izzard’s performances–in fact, all of the actors on this show seem well-cast. I can’t wait to see what they do with this next year. Rescue Me is airing next week, so something new to fill the summertime void. I’ve started taping this new show, On the Lot, a sort of American Idol for movie directors. While the actual show isn’t all that exciting, the short films the directors produce for each episode are fun to watch. The one I’m really excited about is HBO’s Big Love. I caught some OnDemand extras–a few little 2 or 3 minute segments showing how the other wives came into the picture. I highly recommend them if you’re a fan.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

