At the Movies

June 11, 2007 at 3:12 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

I saw Waitress this weekend with mom and Jill, and I was pleasantly entertained. Lots of laugh-out-loud moments, but also very bittersweet. Some great character-acting, and the writing was smart. I was glad I splurged on popcorn and candy–the main character has all these daydreams about making pies, and my mouth was watering at the sight of them. And as always, Nathan Fillion gave a heart-throb performance. 🙂

At home I finally got around to seeing Superman Returns. I was pretty confused during the first 15 minutes because I had thought this was a remake, but it actually picks up where the first movie left off. Superman flies to Krypton (or, rather, where it used to be) and returns eight years later to find Lois has had a kid and is engaged, and his arch nemesis is out of prison and up to no good. I loved Kevin Spacey as Lex Luther, but no one can replace Christopher Reeve.

And I just heard they’re making a movie from one of my favorite books, City of Ember. Looks like Bill Murray is set to star as the quirky mayor. I’ve always imagined this book as a movie, so I can’t wait to see how it turns out.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

