Harry Potter (I promise this is the last one)

July 22, 2007 at 9:28 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

No spoilers here. James and I went to Borders on Friday night, and amid the chaos with a constantly complaining husband, cheering at the stroke of midnight, and waiting in line behind a woman dressed as the Fat Lady (complete with picture frame), we managed to get home by 1 AM with our very own copies of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. No need for headphones in the parking lot. This was a solemn affair, and no one dared leak the ending. James and I got through about four chapters before conking out, then were up early Saturday reading more. By midnight on Saturday, we had both finished (him slightly ahead of me, although to be fair, I cooked dinner, did the dishes, and chatted with some friends and my dad while he got in more reading time). Then we stayed up another hour talking about it. It’s times like these I’m glad I married such an avid reader, and happy for once we’re reading the same thing. The only thing I’ll say about this book is that I loved it. It was deep–more of a thinker than I’d anticipated. If you’re interested, you can read my review at Book by Book. But beware if you haven’t read the book, as I reveal many key parts of the plot, including the ending.

If you’re interested in more Potter news, check out the controversial NY Times review (not nearly so now that the book is out). And this Potter Puppetshow absolutely had me laughing on the floor. This one’s funny, too.

So now I’m finally free to get a library card and pursue the books on my “to-read” list. Although for now I think I’ll just catch up on my pile of magazines.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

