Knew I married the right guy…

July 30, 2007 at 9:39 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: ,


Don’t you love those moments when you realize your husband really gets you? We’ve been listening to a lot of Bill Hicks comedy lately, and today James forwarded me this interesting wikipedia entry linking Bill Hicks to my very favorite band:

The progressive rock band Tool invited Hicks to open a number of concerts for them on their 1993 Lollapalooza appearances, where Hicks once famously asked the audience to look for a contact lens he’d lost. Thousands of people complied.[4] Tool singer Maynard James Keenan so enjoyed this joke that he repeated it on a number of occasions. In 1996, Tool released their album Ænima which contains mentions of Hicks in the liner notes and on record. The track “Ænema” references Hicks’s Arizona Bay philosophy (“Ahhh, it’s gone, it’s gone, it’s gone…All the shitty shows are gone, all the idiots screaming in the fucking wind are dead, I love it…leaving nothing but a cool, beautiful serenity called Arizona Bay. That’s right, when L.A. falls in the fucking ocean and is flushed away, All it will leave is Arizona Bay.”)and the closing track “Third Eye” contains samples from Hicks’s Relentless CD.

I’ve been listening to Tool since about 1994, seen them live about a dozen times, and am always eager for their new releases. But I never knew about this connection, and that it was Bill Hicks sampled on one of my favorite tracks. James is a recent inductee to the Tool fanbase, but he seems to have embraced them almost as fervently as I have. Like his recent interest in yoga, I love that we can share this now.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. JAM’s favorite Bill Hicks quote

    But where did this veneration of childbirth come from? I missed that meeting. “It’s a miracle, childbirth is a miracle.” No it’s not. No more than a miracle than eating food and a turd coming out of your ass. It’s a chemical reaction, that’s all it fucking is. If, you wanna know what a miracle is: raisin’ a kid that doesn’t talk in a movie theatre. Okay, there, there, there is a goddam miracle. It’s not a miracle if every nine months any yin yang in the world can drop a litter of these mewling cabbages on our planet. And just in case you haven’t seen the single mom statistics lately, the miracle is spreading like wild-fire. “Hallelujah!” Trailer parks and council flats all over the world just filling up with little miracles. Thunk, thunk, thunk, like frogs laying eggs. “Thunk, look at all my little miracles, thunk, filling up my trailer like a sardine can. Thunk. You know what would be a real miracle, if I could remember your daddy’s name, aargh, thunk. I guess I’ll have to call you Lorry Driver Junior. Thunk. That’s all I remember about your daddy was his fuzzy little pot-belly riding on top of me shooting his caffeine ridden semen into my belly to produce my little water-headed miracle baby, urgh. There’s your brother, Pizza Delivery Boy Junior.

    — Bill Hicks


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

