LBJ, hamburgers, and random Austin exploring

August 20, 2007 at 5:13 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments
Tags: , ,

Right now I’m sitting in a park…somewhere in Austin. I really only have a vague idea where I am, but I’m ok with that. There’s a jogging trail to my right, a neighborhood of upscale houses on my left, and a copse of trees all around me. I shouldn’t be surprised by all the green space in Austin–this seems like a very eco-friendly town.

I started my morning at the LBJ library and museum while Marisa stayed home to work. This museum was especially poignant to me because of this awesome class I took at MU, History of the 1960s, where a biography by Doris Goodwin Kearns on Lyndon Johnson was required reading. He’s responsible for some of the landmark civil rights and welfare acts signed into law in the ’60s, and I’ve always admired his vision of the “Great Society”. The museum took me back to everything I learned in that class, and taught me a few new things. For instance, I saw a letter from Lady Bird to Lyndon before they were married, where she avidly hopes that he doesn’t get into politics. They also had this kinda creepy animatronic Lyndon Johnson telling some of his more famous jokes. And a scale model of the oval office during his time there. I highly recommend this museum if you’re in Austin and you’re a big 60s nerd like me.

Then Marisa and I had lunch at Hut’s Hamburgers, where I think I might have to bump something off my top 10 hamburgers of all-time list to make room for the Keller burger–1000 island dressing, lettuce, tomato + giant onion ring. Mmmmmm….

I spent the rest of my afternoon perusing the art galleries and antique/vintage shops along Congress Avenue. I stopped in at The Yard Dog to see a series called “Wet Dogs,” photographs by a local artist of the cutest, albeit wet, canines. At one of the art shops I was compelled to buy a print for Marisa–can’t wait to get home to show it to her. I so wish we lived in the same city. Maybe someday.

This whole trip has got me thinking about the direction my life has taken. Austin makes me feel young, like I’m at school again. (heh heh, mostly because people keep asking me if I go to UT) I feel youthfully idealistic as I rummage through vintage t-shirts, and it’s caused me to take stock of my priorities. I’ve been really focused on settling down and getting a house in KC, but James seems really intent on moving us overseas for awhile. I’ve been a bit resistant, but now I’m feeling like I’d enjoy living somewhere different, experiencing something different. I could get back into my artwork and photography, and maybe even some writing. Marisa’s got this whole bohemian lifestyle going, and it’s made me yearn for the simplicity of just observing life, and letting it take me where it may. I suppose I could do all of these things in Kansas City, but living in Olathe just doesn’t foster there urges. I guess we’ll just see what happens in the coming year, but I’m feeling better about deviating from The Plan (ie: house, dog, kids).

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Whoa!

    You’ve been brainwashed! lol! Kidding…I think a bohemian lifestyle would fit you well. And you can still have kids if overseas…would make for a great story someday.

    I get my camera this weekend…I can’t wait!

    • Re: Whoa!

      I’m sure I’ll have great blog fodder 🙂
      Can’t wait to see pics from your new camera. Going to Italy in the fall, right?

  2. Amanda! You are such a writer!

    Amanda!

    Thank you so much for staying with me but also for embarking on this wonderful journey of recording your experiences! You could definitely get paid to be a travel writer. I love you! Thank you for being so tenacious (!) and for teaching me more about how to be a strong woman. I definitely need to ride the bike trail and get over my fear. I had so much fun watching you sing, hearing your excellent stories, and laughing and laughing with you! Thank you for being so inquisitive and accepting. You are an inspiration to me.

    Oh Mandy! Well you gave and you gave without taking…. xo Marisa

    • Re: Amanda! You are such a writer!

      Awww, shucks. You’re making me tear up…


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

