August 27, 2007 at 10:57 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

It’s 11 o’clock and I’m tearing apart the closet, looking for a memory. The hazard of moving as many times as we have: it’s hard to recollect where we might have left something that’s more than a few years old. This particular item, a drawing, is about 10 years old. I titled it “Only When She’s Asleep”, and it shows our dog, UB, cuddled up asleep on the floor. Normally an energetic pup, a preferred her in sleep mode. During my junior year of high school my sister begged to have a dog, despite my reservations and protests. Turns out UB (short for Under Bite) helped me get over my fear of dogs, comforted me on days I stayed home sick from school, and entertained us all with her endless (and fruitless) pursuit of backyard squirrels. Of course my sister and my dad took to her right away, and it’s for them I’m the most sad. Mom called a little while ago and said they had to put UB down today. She’s had a rough year with general old age, so we were prepared that this might happen soon. But it’s never an easy decision to make while standing in the vet’s office.

So I’m rifling through my old sketch pads, and I can see where I thought the drawing was supposed to be, but it’s not there. I can close my eyes and picture it quite clearly. Perhaps that’ll have to do.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Aww. Sorry to hear about UB. I’ve heard so much about her over the years I feel like I almost knew her.

  2. UB

    I remember that sketch. It was quite good as I recall. I hope you find it. I’m not ready to see it yet, but sometime soon.
    Your still sad Dad.
    M.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

