Feeling very circle of life…

August 29, 2007 at 9:28 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

My good friend Maggie had a healthy baby girl on Monday, and named her Anna. I like that name. I talked to Jill tonight, and her midwife is convinced she’ll be having her baby by the weekend. We’ll see what happens.

I’m in school-mode this fall: I signed James and I up for a 5-week get-reacquainted-with-German course at UMKC, signed myself up for a 12-week online photography class at JCCC, and I’m taking a one-day course at work on Flash in October. Figured it was on my resume, so I ought to actually learn how to use it, lol. I’m also thinking about breaking out the art supplies and doing some sketching again. Though, between the yoga classes and dinners out with friends and family, plus the new prime-time TV lineup in the fall, I’m not sure where I’ll find the time. I also offered to help Jill and Doug with their new house. It needs a fresh coat of paint, among maaaany other things, apparently. Busy busy.

Books for this week
Now that I’m finally done with the HP saga (I’m such a dork, I read the 7th book twice!), I’ve moved on to a delightful book on my to-read list, Anne of Green Gables. I’m almost halfway through, and I adore Anne Shirley! Of course I knew I would–Disney came out with a miniseries for Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Avonlea when I was kid that I practically had memorized I watched it so many times. I’m finding that the adaptation was faithfully done, and I love that I’m rediscovering the familiar plot. Terms I’ve used for years–bosom friends and kindred spirits–those all came from Anne Shirley and what felt like my own childhood. What I’m loving about the book over the TV series, though, are these long, poetic dialogues Anne has with anyone who will listen. It’s like seeing the world in a whole new light with a person who finds beauty and drama in even the most mundane.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Flash

    I’ve got some Flash too…pretty pathetic…but still fun.
    http://www.westernhillsalumni.com/
    http://www.brusm.com/images/david.swf

    Cousin Bruce


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

