Labor Day Gumbo

September 3, 2007 at 7:21 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Glad I wore my elastic pants today. James and I decided to make some Labor Day Seafood Gumbo, and I think I’ve eaten myself into incapacitation. We made so much, I suspect we’ll be eating it every day for a week. I can’t wait.

In fact, we’ve eaten very well this weekend–steaks and asparagus on the grill Saturday, and pork chops with summer veggies on the grill Sunday. Money well-spent on that grill. And I had a very heavy and very delicious meal at Carmen’s Cafe in Brookside with my aunt and uncle from Chicago. I had the Steak Oscar, and out of the handful of times I’ve eaten at Carmen’s, I think this was my best meal. Which says a lot, because I’ve always had a good meal there.

To make up for all this heavy eating, I went on a bike ride with my dad on Sunday. We biked along the Little Blue River in Independence–a trail we last biked together over 3 years ago. I bought him a new bike seat (kind of an early birthday present), and his rear end was much obliged 🙂 We probably only went 10 miles round trip, but the heat was really getting to me and I ran out of water, so I’m glad we turned back when we did. I’m hoping we can go on another bike outing in a couple of weeks.

September is already here, and my niece remains stubbornly in my sister’s belly. Jill had some labor pains on Friday, but it turned out to be a false alarm. The whole family was waiting by the phone all weekend, but no word. I guess there’s a still a chance she’ll be born on James’s birthday, which is this Friday, but I have a feeling she’ll come sooner than that. She’s technically due on the 11th, but as uncomfortably big as Jill has gotten, I hope she’s born early.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

