More holes poked, my husband is crazy (and so am I), Whiskey Tango wedding

September 15, 2007 at 7:52 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

I’ve had a rough week. Made rougher by the cold (er, plague) that I managed to catch at my office. It’s lingering a bit today, but I’m hoping to be well enough for a visit to the new little niece tomorrow. Friday I went in for another acupuncture session. This time I knew what to expect, but I had trouble immersing myself in the experience. I may go once more next week if I still have trouble sleeping. Strangely enough, as I was lying in bed last night, I felt the all-to-familiar pain creeping in, but by sheer force of will, I was able to push the pain away. I’m not sure how I did that, or if I can repeat that tonight. I guess I’ll have to see.

James found out what overseas positions will be opening up in the spring: a couple in Mexico, a couple in China, one in the Philippines, one in India, and one in South Korea. Talk about no garden spots! When we got home from work, I expected him to be dejected, but instead he brought home travel books on Beijing, Delhi, and Seoul. At which point I threw a fit. I was sold on the whole overseas experience when it meant Rome or Frankfurt, but I really have no desire to live in Asia. I finally conceded that I might be able to tolerate Seoul, but really I wish he’d hold out for some choice positions in Europe. In the days following, he finally admitted that he wants to get out of Kansas City, that he wishes we hadn’t moved back. Quite a blow to me, as I’ve felt more home here than anywhere else we’ve lived. But apparently he hates it here, and now that we’re back he’s remembering all the reasons he wanted to leave in the first place. And he wants to move…again. I’m thinking, “Don’t Panic,” but of course, I’m panicking. All my planning laid to waste in one fell swoop. But one thing I’ve learned in my (eek!) almost 30 years of existence is that plans almost never work out. And marriage is about compromise.

So, new plan! (yes, I know, I never learn. But this is the only way I function.) We’ve decided to try Chicago on for size. Before we moved to NY, we had our sights set on Chi-town, but the job in NY was better. We had a second chance to move there a couple years ago, but James chose the refugee job in DC instead. We figure third time’s the charm, right? And it’s a good compromise–mass transit and urban lifestyle James craves, and closer to family for me. And I truly miss being able to walk and take the train everywhere. Sure, it’ll be expensive. And it’ll be harder than life in the suburbs of KC. But as James constantly reminds me, we’ll figure it out. I’m sure we will. In the meantime, we’re going to head up to Chicago in Oct or Nov for a long weekend–my aunt and uncle said we could come stay with them anytime. Figure we’ll check out some neighborhoods, see some sights, and make sure it’s a good fit for us before James starts putting in for any jobs.

Friday night I spent in Greenwood at a rather Whiskey Tango wedding (aka, white trash). It was all good–old friends from my LS neighborhood, some I hadn’t seen since I was a kid. I was designated the wedding photographer, so I had fun running around snapping pictures of everything. My friends’ kids were so adorable, and so grown up! Misty, the bride and incidentally a year younger than me, has a daughter who’s in the seventh grade this year. Seventh grade! That astounds me…and makes me feel dreadfully old, lol.

And finally, I read online today that Poltergeist is being re-released in theaters for one night, October 4th. I know it’s kind of a cheesy horror flick, but given my history with this movie, I have to see it. My mom took me to see it when I was five years old, the same age as little Carol Ann. Lapse of judgment on her part–I had nightmares for two weeks! But then when I was older I discovered it again and just loved it. I’m trying to talk my sister into coming if she can pry herself away from Evey for two hours, and if anyone else wants to join me, let me know.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

