Tee Vee

October 2, 2007 at 9:39 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

So many shows, so little time. Thursdays are a big TV night with a special hour-long Office and Grey’s Anatomy which, of course, are on at the same time. God bless the DVR! The Office is sometimes hit or miss funny-wise, but the minute Michael hit one of his employees with his car in the parking lot, I knew this would be a good one. A charity run…for rabies?! And Michael tying the balloon bouquet to her IV had me rolling. But I think my favorite line was from the creepy older guy as he was talking about religious cults. “It’s more fun to be a follower, but you make more money as a leader.” Priceless. And of course Pam and Jim got together–sort of funny how anti-climactic that was. Speaking of which, did anyone get the same feeling about the Grey’s season premiere? I don’t know if it was just me, but I kinda felt ambivalent toward the main characters. They seemed overly cranky and whiny. I was actually more interested in the new interns, particularly Meredith’s half sister. I was seriously considering giving up on this show this season, but then George showed up on Izzy’s doorstep, and it hooked me back in. I’ll be interested to read what the writers have to say about this epi.

Sunday’s Desperate Housewives and Brothers & Sisters indulged my guilty pleasures. I know I shouldn’t like these shows, but dammit, what else am I going to do on a sunday night? I mean, Bree had a barbecue fork sticking out of her fake pregnant belly, and my favorite character Lynette has cancer. Draaaama! But the real reason I keep watching is they’ve introduced my favorite intrepid space cowboy, Nathan Fillion, as one of the new neighbors. I’m afraid he’s getting typecast as a gynecologist these days–this is the second time he’s played one. (The first was in Waitress, another great movie I saw this year) But he’s a dreamy one, so I don’t mind 🙂

I think Monday is becoming my favorite TV night. I caught last week’s premiere of the new show Chuck, about a computer geek working for the “Nerd Herd” at “Buy More” who finds himself in the middle of a government battle over classified international spy secrets. And hilarity ensues. Another of my favorite Firefly cast members Adam Baldwin plays a shady NSA operative out to protect (we think) dear ol’ confused Chuck. I love watching him man-handle Buy More employees as he poses as the newest edition to the Nerd Herd team. Another reason I’m thankful for the DVR, this hour-long show airs opposite How I Met Your Mother and The Big Bang Theory, both of which are becoming can’t-miss shows. And of course Heroes is the Creme de la Creme. The second season just keeps getting more and more exciting! Quite a geeky Monday line-up, I know, but I love it!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

