Best Halloween Movies

October 31, 2007 at 6:20 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: ,

Every year on Halloween night I stay up late and watch scary movies from my somewhat extensive collection. In honor of the night of fright, here’s a list of my favorites:

Alien(1979) and Aliens (1986) Starring an alien-ass-kicking Sigourney Weaver, the subtlety and lonely tone of the first one still scares me today, while the action-packed sequel almost surpasses the first. I didn’t much care for the subsequent sequels, though I’d recommend Alien Vs. Predator for another good alien-ass-kicking time.

The Ring (2002) I’m not much for the newer scary/gory films, but this one scared the crap out of me. I rented it a few years ago, and as the credits rolled and I turned out the lights, I was seriously afraid to go to bed! Very creepy and realistic CGI, and I absolutely love the imagery in this film. The plot isn’t the best, but still very frightening!

Donnie Darko (2001) One of Jake Gyllenhaal’s first films (also starring Maggie), this bizarre tale of a boy’s hallucinations about the end of the world, which incidentally falls on Halloween, really gets me in the spirit. A Tears for Fears soundtrack, creepy Patrick Swayze, and theories on time travel make this a must-see in my book. Go Sparkle Motion! (interesting side note, the girl in The Ring is also in this movie)

Poltergeist (1982) Given my history, this had to make the list.

The Monster Squad (1987) A childhood favorite, I watched this campy 80s monster flick so many times, I’ve got the lines memorized. Great for kids and monster-lore lovers.

Shawn of the Dead (2004) Hilarious zombie film set in Britain.

28 Days Later (2002) A not-so-hilarious zombie film set in Britain. The atypical zombies didn’t drone on about eat brains. They ran full force at you, oozing infection and feasting on your limbs. Eek!

The Silence of the Lambs (1991) “A census taker once tried to test me. I ate his liver with some fava beans and a nice chianti.” Need I say more?

The Haunting (1963) The classic, not the re-make. This is my mom’s favorite scary flick. It’s scary for what it doesn’t show. Gotta love those classics.

Wait Until Dark (1967) Another of my favorite classics, starring Audrey Hepburn as a blind woman in New York.

Hocus Pocus (1993) Sarah Jessica Parker made this movie for me, about three witches brought to life in Salem. Yes, I know, it’s Disney, but I can’t help love it!

Army of Darkness (1992) Bruce Campbell in the third installment of the Evil Dead. This one is my favorite. “Gimme some sugar, baby.”

The Others (2001) Nichol Kidman stars in this eerie ghost story set in 1940s England. Love the twist.

Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977) Aliens can be good, too, as Spielberg would have us believe.

Bram Stoker’s Dracula (1992) Gary Oldman as dracula…dreeaaamy. Keanu Reeves almost ruined this movie…almost.

The Exorcist (1973)I first saw this movie when I was 12, and it scared the crap out of me! Now it doesn’t seem quite so scary, though still pretty shocking.

Interview with a Vampire. Brad Pitt, Tom Cruise, and Antonio Banderas as vampires…bestill my heart! And a very talented and very young Kirstin Dunst.

The Lost Boys (1987) Cheesy 80s vampire fun. And Keifer Sutherland always plays the best bad guys.

The X-Files (1998) I always found the show a little hit or miss, but the movie was awesome. Doesn’t help I’ve got a big crush on Mulder 🙂

What are your favorite scary flicks?

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Scary movies

    Have you ever seen the 1980 movie “The Shining”? Jack Nicholson does a great creepy & demented!

    From, Jan S.

  2. I’ve got to agree…The Shining is pretty creepy. “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy!”

    Oh yeah…you should check out They by Wes Craven. Just make sure you watch it late at night with with the lights off.

    Last but not least….Have you seen the re-realized version of the Exorcist with the extra footage put back in? Jenny and I saw it in the theater…even more creepy than the original.

    Tori

    • Yep, saw the Shining. Jack Nicholson was fantastically scary, but I found Stephen King’s book even more terrifying. Especially the part with the garden hedges. Freeeeaky!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

