Nirvana: In Memoriam

November 20, 2007 at 11:00 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

Nirvana’s MTV Unplugged DVD hits store shelves today, which I discovered by catching the tail end of back-to-back Nirvana videos playing on MTV tonight. Quite a trip down memory lane seeing all of those grainy videos, MTV Unplugged footage, and SNL performances, all of which I saw the first time back in 9th and 10th grade. Suddenly, a flood washed over me: Watching Smells Like Team Spirit, dripping with teenage angst, as I got ready for school; a fuscia-haired Kurt Cobain staring down at me from my bedroom wall, one of many coveted Sassy covers; five-dollar over-sized flannels proudly purchased from the local thrift store; a beat up old Memorex tape of Nevermind I played endlessly in my mom’s car; singing along to All Apologies with my oh-so-cool-I’m-in-a-college-band boyfriend; and a couple years later picking out the melody to Heart Shaped Box on my friend Todd’s guitar, one of the first songs I ever learned to play (along with Rape me, much to his roommate’s chagrin). It’s amazing how much this band, which shone so briefly in the mid-90s, permeates my life, and countless others’. It’s been 14 years almost to the day since that MTV performance, and I can honestly say I love them now just as much as I did then.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

