Helping out at the Shavers’

November 21, 2007 at 6:47 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , ,

Gotta love this KC weather. Yesterday it was sunny and 73. Today it’s snowing. Winter has arrived a little early this year, but I don’t mind–gives me a chance to try out my fancy new down coat from Macy’s. 🙂

I had a half day at work today, so I picked up some groceries and headed over to Jill’s for a little pie making. I walked in the door to a rambunctious five-year-old, a brother-in-law headed out the door, and a fussy little niece. Jill took one look and said, “I’m so glad you’re here.” Usually Jill is the master crust-maker, but because Evie was inconsolable in my arms, Jill had to do all the supervising while I fumbled through the recipe. We were making two pies — our usual Pecan and Sweet Potato — and while I was able to mix the dough by hand pretty well, when it came to rolling it out, I was absolutely retarded. Fortunately Evie hung out in her swing chair long enough for Jill to come to the rescue. Camden was actually pretty good, at first pestering us to watch movies with him, but entertained enough to watch us make pies instead. He’s a funny kid, as I’ve learned kids are at this age at one of my favorite blogs, Alternadad. Jill and Doug recently purchased a new refrigerator with the ice maker and water dispenser in the door. So last week Cam and Doug are in the kitchen, and Cam puts his cup up to the ice maker.

“That’s not what I wanted!”

“Did you want crushed ice instead?”

“No.”

“Well, what did you think was going to come out of there?”

“Lemons.”

I guess I can see how a five-year-old would mistake the little cube pictures on the side of the fridge for lemon slices. What that kid was going to do with lemons I have no idea. Cracked me up.

So, while the pies baked I took care of cleaning up the kitchen, then entertained Evie while Jill put some laundry away. Poor Jill barely gets to eat dinner anymore, as 5-8 PM has been designated Evie’s “fussy time.” This mothering thing looks hard. I wonder how much nannies cost?

Tomorrow we’ll see how the pies turned out, but I’m not too concerned as I’ve been making Sweet Potato Pie almost every year for awhile now. Here’s the recipe:

Sweet Potato Pie
1-1/2 cups cooked, mashed sweet potatoes (I always make the mistake of buying too many spuds. I’m sure 2 is plenty)
1/2 cup butter, melted
1-1/3 cups sugar
3 TBSP flour
2 large eggs
2/3 cups eggnog
1 TBSP heavy or whipping cream
1 TSP vanilla
1/2 TSP nutmeg
1/2 TSP cinnamon
1/2 TSP lemon extract (optional)
1 9-inch unbaked pie shell

Preheat oven 375 degrees.
Peel several raw sweet potatoes, cut and boil until tender. Mash the potatoes and measure out 1-1/2 cups. Mix 1-1/2 cups of mashed sweet potatoes with butter, sugar, flour, eggs, eggnog, cream, vanilla and spices. Pour filling mixture into pie shell. Bake 45 minutes, checking at 30 minutes to see if the crust is browning. To prevent crust from browning too rapidly, place a ring of foil around the edge.

The pie is done when a knife inserted midway between the center and rim comes out clean.

Note: If desired substitute 2/3 cup canned, unsweetened evaporated milk for eggnog. If evaporated milk is used, increase sugar to 1-1/2 cups.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

