Me Movie Friday

November 23, 2007 at 4:21 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

This morning after braving Target for an on-sale pre-lit Christmas tree (the crowds were surprisingly sparse), I headed to the local AMC for an afternoon of movies. Five dollars gets you a ticket to a pre-noon show, and if you time things just right, you can usually squeeze in another movie or two. (I say stick it to the man…movie prices are usually stupidly expensive). First up, The Mist, a Stephen King adaptation directed by Frank Darabont, who adapted the very successful Green Mile and Shawshank Redemption. I read this short story, part of Skeleton Crew, when I was in high school, and it quickly became one of my all-time favorites (along with The Long Walk, which is long overdue for a movie version.) It’s a monster flick, full of flesh-eating tentacles, deadly giant bugs, and unimaginable horrors. But the scariest monster of them all? Christian Fundamentalism. The movie stayed true to the book, exploring the limits of human sanity tested by insane circumstances, until the ending, which veered wildly away from the original story. I’m still not sure how I feel about it–my usual gripe is that movie adaptations take powerfully sad endings and turn them into diluted and nonsensically happy endings. But this wasn’t the case. At all. I won’t give it away, but I will say this…the ending definitely has me thinking.

Next up, Lars and the Real Girl, an independent film I heard about on NPR this week. The plots sounded a little…unusual. This guy buys a sex doll on the internet and tries to pass her off as his girlfriend. But not in a funny, college humor kind of way. More in a sad, delusional kind of way. This film was brilliantly written and acted, and I love how the whole community gets involved with the main character’s quirky delusion. It’s funny and surprisingly touching.

I almost snuck into No Country for Old Men, the new Coen Brothers flick which came highly recommended, but I’d already missed the first half hour. Maybe next time. 🙂

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

