Yoga Angels, Enchanted, and god, I’m old

November 28, 2007 at 5:05 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags: ,

I woke up this morning feeling all of my 30 years. And maybe a little more. A barrage of work-related annoyances, dreary weather, and a planned dinner all but ruined have made for an unpleasant birthday. Fortunately, it’s been more like a birthday week–getting to open presents with my family on Thanksgiving, and having a birthday dinner with friends this coming Friday–so I’m trying not to put too much stock into this one miserable day.

I did have a lovely night last night at the AMC with my friend Jessaca, who had a free ticket to Enchanted. It was surprisingly delightful…plus, I get to see McDreamy twice this week 🙂 Amy Adams was splendidly upbeat and naive, and although the plot was a little hokey, it was certainly amusing. We laughed for about 10 minutes when the prince thanks Patrick Dempsey and his daughter for taking care of the princess for him, “Thank you, peasants!”

Went to an interesting yoga workshop on Sunday at Darling where I learned Nam Yoga. It sounded like fun–a lot of meditation and chanting and singing–and it was, until the instructor started talking about the Astral Plane and the “white light and angels” her yogi sees when a room full of people do the Luminous Chant. Ooookkkkay. Well, despite the silly hippie stuff, I did have a good time and learned something new. I doubt I’ll actually practice it daily, but it’s nice to incorporate a few mantras when I’m doing yoga at home.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Me sorry you had such a bad birthday! : ( Sometimes I think we expect something cosmic about those days when in reality…its just another day. Hopefully your weekend will make up for it.

    Thinking about taking the hip opening workshop this weekend at WillowSreet. The teacher looks absolutely yummy and I’ve been having problems with my hips and running so maybe I can learn a few tricks.

  2. I thought about you today! Happy Birthday! 🙂

    And, really, try having 3 kids to chase around… nothing like living with young’uns to make you feel old!! 🙂

    • Ha ha, so true! But maybe they keep you young at heart 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

