In a Christmas Mood…

December 4, 2007 at 8:16 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

Friday’s birthday dinner at Pierponts lifted my dour spirits immensely. A five-course prix fixe menu, including a succulent filet mignon and creme brulee, for only $45…who can beat that? Plus, I got to see a zinger of a diamond engagement ring my friend Jenny recently acquired. I don’t know how she wears it without being worried she’ll lose it!

Saturday I started my Christmas shopping…er…for me. Jill, Evie and I headed to the West Bottoms for the KC Wearhaus sale, and I just couldn’t resist picking up a pair of Twittering Machine’s famous Y-fronts. Mine have a lion on the front, rrrwwar 🙂 I also left with a cute hand-made skirt and winter hat, both from local designers and half the price I’d get them retail. I hear they do these once every couple of months…i might become a regular. I particularly liked Janay’s booth (where I bought my skirt)–even signed up for her mailing list.

As for my Christmas Mood, that all started Sunday on my tour of the Vaile Mansion and Bingham-Waggoner Estate, all dolled up for Victorian Christmas. Check out the photos here. (and a few of Evie, of course, heh)

Books for this month
Notice I said month instead of week. Not much time for reading these days. I finally finished the behemoth fantasy novel Jill bought for me last Christmas, Terry Goodkind’s Wizard’s First Rule. It was a slow start for me, and I put it down a few times before I finished. But things really picked up at the end, and I’ll be interested in checking out the rest of the series. I’m not quite as enamored of it as Jill was–the writing style isn’t the best–but the story is kind of interesting.

To change things up a little, I picked up The Thornbirds, which I’ve heard about and have always wanted to read. I’m about halfway through, and I’m thoroughly enjoying it. Course, I was always a huge Little House on the Prairie fan as a kid, so I’m not surprised.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

