Yummy cookies, an untimely death, and the frugal shopping habits of Our Lord and Savior.

December 20, 2007 at 10:28 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: , ,

Tuesday I headed to the Tivoli with Toast to see the much anticipated Morgan Spurlock movie, What Would Jesus Buy? We were delighted it finally opened in Kansas City, and were anxious to witness the activist exploits of Reverend Billy and the Church of Stop Shopping. Their basic message I totally agree with: our consuming hysteria has completely ruined Christmas. People bankrupt themselves, shove people to the floor and trample them, just for that overly-priced hot new toy. All in the name of Christmas Spirit. I remember reading this absurd John Grisham book Surviving Christmas, where the main characters decide to put the money they usually spend on Christmas toward a cruise instead. And I was simply floored by how much they figured they spent every year…6,000. Dollars. On Christmas. Holy Shit. The last time I even saw that much money was when I sold my first Honda for cash before we left for NY. And I would never plunk that down for gifts, decorations, cards, and general hoopla. What is wrong with people? Anyway, the movie was pretty entertaining, and a real thinker, although the jumpy camera angles made poor Toast lose her lunch. She missed the best line, “All across America, people are inside a car on their way to a television.” So true.

On a much sadder note, James’s grandma passed away last night. She’s had Alzheimer’s for years, and she had steadily been deteriorating, so it was somewhat expected. But her passing is hard on the family, so we’re driving to St. Louis next week for the funeral instead of visiting my in-laws in Texas. His grandpa is going in for hip surgery tomorrow, and being in his 80s, we’re all a little nervous for him. My heart and thoughts go out to them tonight.

And finally, my entire magazine staff and I have been gorging ourselves on goodies all week–we all agreed to bring in treats on Tuesday, and we just…can’t…stop…eating. I brought in my very favorite cookies, Peanut Butter Blossoms, and they were a huge hit. So much so, I’m posting the recipe below. New Year’s Resolution #1 – get my lard ass into shape and out of the cookie jar!

Peanut Butter Blossoms
48 Hershey Kisses
1/2 cup shortening
3/4 cup creamy peanut butter
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup packed light brown sugar
1 egg
2 TBSP Milk
1 TSP vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 TSP baking soda
1/2 TSP salt
Granulated sugar for dipping

1. Heat oven to 375 degrees. Remove wrapper from kisses.
2. In large bowl, beat shortening and peanut butter until well blended. Add 1/3 cup granulated sugar and brown sugar; beat until light and fluffy. Add egg, milk and vanilla; beat well. Stir together flour, baking soda and salt; gradually add to peanut butter mixture. Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Roll in granulated sugar; place on ungreased cookie sheet.
3. Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until lightly browned. Immediately place Kiss on top of each cookie, pressing down so cookie cracks around edges. Remove from cookie sheet to wire rack. Cook completely. Makes about 4 dozen cookies.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. My Favorite!

    If I could only take one cookie with me on a desert island it would be those! I LOVE them. Yum!

  2. >although the jumpy camera angles made poor Toast lose her lunch.

    Really pathetic. I wish I could say it was all the gratuitous mall shots that made me hoerk. Heh.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

