A Night to Remember…Mostly.

March 10, 2008 at 9:44 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

They say 30 is the new 21. I’m not sure who “they” are, but after my uneventful 30th birthday last November, I figured “they” weren’t anyone I knew. Guess I thought wrong. My college friend Tori had a big 30th birthday bash in St. Louis this weekend. And though we didn’t party quite as hard as we did on her 21st, we did an admirable job for being so old.

We started in the late afternoon with a girls-only naughty toys party, learning the ins and outs, so to speak. Quite informative…and expensive 🙂 Then we moved the party to The Drunken Fish, a trendy sushi hot-spot at Westport Plaza. Our server, a dead ringer for the Chotchkie’s waiter on Office Space, filled us in on the “awesome” new infused sakes they’d just gotten in that day. After ordering some carbonated monstrosity, Tori’s Korean friend Mee Wha and I opted for some hot house sake. To which we received a rather annoying lecture about how only good sakes are served cold, and cheap sakes are served hot to make them taste better. Whatever, dude, bring us the cheap stuff! I looked to Mai Wa, hoping she’d know best — but we both agreed we like hot better, no matter the stigma. And it was good. As was the mountain of salmon, yellow tail, and eel I ordered. Our server, sensing the animosity toward his lecture might equal a lessor tip, kept bringing us free appetizers and desserts. Tori’s boyfriend ordered a bottle of Soju which, after half a bottle of sake, went down with surprising smoothness. After that, we all had a round of sake bombs at the bar. See, ya take a pint of beer, see? Then put some some chopsticks about an inch apart on top. Then you pour a shot of sake and balance it on top, ya follow? Then you shoot a thimbleful of 151 proof into the sake, light the thing on fire, shout a bunch of Japanese words I can’t remember, pound your fists on the bar, knock the sake into the beer, and drink the whole thing up just as fast as you can! SAKE BOMB! HAIEE!

Full of fish and sake, we stumbled to a nearby bar to dance the night away. But somewhere around midnight we started to sober up, realized we were all old, and decided to head back to the hotel. The next morning, daylight savings and a four-hour drive back home left me feeling closer to 40 than 30. Oh well, I still had a blast. I can’t wait until Tori’s next milestone birthday!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I think I finally caught up on my sleep last night! You forgot the part where my new boy modeled his boxers for you and Mee Wha….although he doesn’t remember doing it. (surprise surprise) Thanks for coming over!! It was a blast! – Tori


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

