Five hundred twenty-five thousand six hundred minutes…

March 17, 2008 at 8:09 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

How do you measure a year? The HenchAussie and I saw a fantastic performance of Rent at the Music Hall on Sunday. This has to rank among my very favorite musicals, up there with Spamalot and West Side Story. I’ve been familiar with the soundtrack since the late 90s (one of my fellow Vox staff-members played it incessantly while we put that paper to bed every week.), and I absolutely loved the movie adaptation that came out a few years ago.

Rent is a rock opera based on Puccini’s La Boheme, but set in the Lower East Side in the 1990s. Instead of TB, Mimi is dying from AIDs, and the main characters Mark and Roger are a videographer and a rock musician. Oh, and of course let’s not forget the lesbos and trannies. I’d never seen this musical live, so I was constantly comparing yesterday’s performance to the movie. For the most part it delivered. Mimi was a little weak, but the rest of the actors lived up to or surpassed the original cast. There were also quite a few songs I hadn’t heard before. At the end the audience gave a heart-felt standing ovation, and I was brought to tears. The message, “No Day but Today” completely resonates with me right now.

Among my favorites, Take Me or Leave Me (watch here.) and Santa Fe (watch here)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

