Great book!

March 19, 2008 at 7:58 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:


I haven’t had as much time for reading lately, certainly not like the book-per-week habit I had in NYC (with a two-hour commute and lunch by myself, I was probably reading 3 hours a day, easily).

Whitney Matheson touted The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian (by Sherman Alexie) as the best book she’d read last year, so it was only a matter of time before I was going to pick that up. Months, perhaps, but inevitable. And I’m so glad I found the time. Delightfully honest and heart-wrenching, Alexie’s first foray into young adult fiction is a resounding success. Told through the eyes of Arnold “Junior” Spirit, this short novel reveals the inner thoughts of a 15-year-old reservation kid trying to escape his fate by leaving the rez and attending a “white” school. He walks or hitchhikes 22 miles every morning, withstands the chiding from his neighbors and old chums, and deals with the balance of two worlds, neither of which he feels he truly belongs. This novel had me both laughing out loud and practically sobbing (here’s James: “Uh, did I do something wrong?” “No, honey, it’s just a sad part in the book.”) This should be required reading in high school English Lit classes…though, as Neil Gaiman says on the back cover, “I have no doubt that in a year or so it’ll both be winning awards and being banned.”

I need to amend my Top 30 Books list. This one definitely deserves a spot.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

