The Week in Review

April 27, 2008 at 10:18 am | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: , , ,

I’ve had a whirlwind of a week…between getting back from Vegas in the middle of the night Saturday, about 15 hours of TV taped on my DVR to catch up on, a freelance gig that needed my immediate attention, and juggling multiple projects at my regular job, I’ve had no time to update my blog. And I’ve had so much to talk about! So, here’s the whole rundown:

Viva Las Vegas. My last day in Vegas was an interesting cultural experience for me. We met my friend Celena’s dad for dim sum. I’ve had dim sum on numerous occasions, but never with actual Chinese people, heh. They mostly spoke in Chinese, translating for me every once in awhile. So wonderfully authentic! I found out what tripe was when her dad ordered a heaping bowl of it. Intestine are not exactly top on my “to try” list. But the rest was very tasty. I finally got all of my pictures uploaded and captioned, so you can see those here.

TV wrap-up.I spent Sunday watching a batch of mediocre episodes, but my disappointment was alleviated this week when Lost made an amazing return — Ben is such a bad ass, and I loved seeing how Sayid got sucked into being his hired hitman — and The Office was hysterical this week. I about fell out of my chair when they mentioned social networking websites, which is a hot issue at my own office. And Dwight making out with the girls basketball team at a NY club…priceless. 30 Rock also improved this week. I love Tina Fey 🙂 Battlestar Galactica has finally started to pick up, so all is right with the world.

Speaking of TV… I mentioned to James last week about using our “economic stimulus” to upgrade our TV. It’s our civic duty and all. Anyway, I thought I’d try and sell our gigantor Sony first, but of course he got all excited, and after mentioning that he got a sizable bonus last month, and I’m expecting a large check from Urban Times next week, and he’s finally getting his big raise in a couple weeks, we decided what the hell? So we moved the giant 30″ Sony Wega into the bedroom (where it’s laughably too big…but HD in the bedroom is pretty sweet), then we purchased this beast of an LCD. (And we even talked them down on the price!) I also have to mention that my Fit is The Bomb. The guys wheeled out this giant box, and were like, “There’s no way that’ll fit.” But it did. Perfectly. I was a afraid we were going to need some butter to grease it back out again. We’ve got it mostly set up now — we just need a stand, which is on the list to buy today. This TV is so glorious, it makes the rest of our house look shabby. Actually, that’s not saying much — we still own a futon.

My fatness gets out of control. So now my fat jeans are getting too tight. Not. Good. I keep saying I’m going to go back to yoga, and I’m going to start riding my bike to work. But I keep getting too busy with freelance work, and it keeps raining everyday this week. I’m hoping the weather and my workload will improve in the coming weeks. In the meantime, I’ve resolved to stop eat hamburgers…but because I have no will power, I had to resolve to start today instead of last night. James, Travis and I stopped at Five Guys in Olathe last night for burgers and fries. It’s one of my favorite DC chains, and I was tickled that they’ve expanded to KC. I couldn’t resist.

Speaking of Burgers. I’ve decided to revise my Top 10 Burgers list to include more restaurants. Jackson Hole in NY will make it back on, and the “Hamborger” at the Quark Bar and Grill needs a place on there, as well. Stay tuned for an updated list. Thursday I had dinner with Jill at the new Chef Burger in the Power & Light District, which might also be list-worthy. I was complaining about the sacrifice to my waistline this burger quest has caused, and Jill suggested I start a new list: Top 10 Salads. Not a bad idear.

Evie’s Crawling! After dinner on Thursday, I got to see Evie’s brand new trick. She’s so flippin’ cute. Jill had to put her to bed, but I was like, “No, I want to play some more!” My grandparents are coming to town next weekend, so hopefully I’ll get some good pics then.

Computer Woes. My external hard drive quit working right before I left for Vegas, which reduced me to tears. All my photos, all my MP3s, and no backups. (Regretfully, something I’d been meaning to do, but hadn’t gotten around to.) James’ friend Travis thinks he might be able to fix it, so I’m crossing my fingers he can. If not, I’ll be referring to this as the Great Digital Purge of 2008. Sigh.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

