Baby Bootcamp

June 6, 2008 at 8:18 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags:

Doug, my brother-in-law, is going back to school on the weekends this summer, and he asked if I’d like to watch Evie while he’s in class. I happily volunteered for the Saturdays I had available, six in all, from 8:30 to 4:30. So, yeah, Baby Bootcamp. I plan on bringing the camera, of course, but I also plan to do a little experiment in infant education. My friend Candi taught her son Miles baby sign language, and I thought I’d give it a whirl on Evie. Not sure if six weeks will be enough, but Jill said she’d work with her on it, too. So that should be fun.

On a side note, my sister is hilarious! She decided she’d had enough of their Australian Shepard’s shedding, so she took it upon herself to shave him. So now he’s got considerably shorter, patchy-in-spots hair that still sheds all over the place! Doug was like, “We’re not planning on walking him in public now, are we?” I don’t think he’ll be making any friends at the dog park, lol.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Baby Bootcamp sounds like fun!!

    I’ve worked with all of my kids and baby sign language. The only sign my children pick up is “all done.” But, it’s fun, nonetheless! Honestly, Josh and Nate have learned more sign language in the last 6ish months (since I started doing it with Sarah) than they did when they were infants.

    But, my kids seem to be the exception to the rule. I know a *ton* of people who have done baby sign with great results. 🙂 My kids are just really really verbal… they’re super anxious to actually talk, so they figure out words and talk really early as opposed to signing with me – they’ll say the word when I sign it once they start talking, so I know they learned it, but they rarely sign back to me.

  2. Thanks, Julie! Hopefully Evie will pick it up, though she’s already getting verbal. I swear her first word is “cat” — every time one walks into the room, she yells, “Caa!” Then a dog runs into the room, “Caa!” Well, she’s close. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

