Anniversary

July 25, 2008 at 5:01 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

Ten years ago this July I met a young, skinny, bespectacled nineteen-year-old with strikingly long hair, cute curly sideburns, and aspirations for law school. We had the same job that summer; 4th key at B. Dalton Booksellers, him at Oak Park Mall, and me at Ward Parkway Mall. We met at Old Chicago’s, a favorite hangout of some of the younger bookstore employees. I’d love to say our eyes met, my heart skipped a beat, and it was love at first sight. But actually, I was dating one of his friends! It only took a couple of dates for me to realize I wasn’t with the right guy. Two movie outings and a late-night gab session later, James and I were peas and carrots.

We made it through two years at rival universities (MU and KU), only seeing each other on occasional weekends. We had a romantic meet up in Rome during our coinciding study abroad trips in the summer of 1999. We weathered the storms of our first year living together, when we seriously asked, “Who is this person, and where was the one I was dating before?” When James landed a job in NYC, I jumped on board with two feet, planned a wedding in six weeks, and we spent our honeymoon driving all of our worldly possessions in a Uhaul to the beat of “No Sleep Til Brooklyn”. In September we’ll be celebrating our official four years of marriage, and in that time our relationship has only grown stronger. Through thick and thin (and multiple, cross-country moves that never seem to end!), we’re still peas and carrots. And with our newest family member on the way and more adventures on the horizon, I can’t think of anyone else I’d rather share my life with.

Love you, hubby.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

