I’m in love with a teenage vampire

August 25, 2008 at 8:12 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

Vicariously, that is. Jill loaned me Stephanie Meyer’s incredibly addictive Twilight Saga, and I have to admit, I’m quite smitten. I haven’t been this obsessed about a series since the conclusion of Harry Potter last summer. Bella, your typical-if-a -bit-klutzy teenager, finds herself irresistibly drawn to the enigmatic Edward, who finds himself equally drawn to her. One problem, though. He’s a vampire. So while he’s totally in love with her, he also totally wants to drink her blood. He’s sworn off all human prey (as has his whole family), but it’s a still a struggle to balance his love with his thirst. Quite a lot of dreamy sexual tension.

So I’m reading this series (I’m halfway through book 3, and sadly only one more to go), and I’m thinking about my favorite vampire movie, Interview with a Vampire. As Bella is describing her heart pounding every time Edward merely strokes her cheek, I’m picturing a 17-year-old Brad Pitt. She’s willing to risk her life to be with him, even wants to risk her soul so she can spend eternity with him as a vampire herself, and I’m thinking, “Ok, this guy has got to be hot. H-O-T, hot.” But then I saw this trailer for the upcoming film version, due to release in November. Robert Pattinson, best known for playing Cedric Diggory in Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, is no young Brad Pitt. I mean, I guess he’s easy on the eyes, but nowhere near the caliber of, erm, “McDreaminess” I was imagining. So while I’m psyched to go see the movie, I have a feeling it’s going to suck. Stupid Hollywood and their stupid sucky casting. I still haven’t forgiven them for Hayden Christensen.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. me too!

    O.M.G. I started this on vacation in Hilton Head and I can’t put it down. I’m totally simitten.

    • Re: me too!

      yay! so if I find myself a resident of Maryland on November 21st, I can count on you to go to see the movie with me. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

