Feels Good to be a Renter

September 30, 2008 at 5:14 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

Every morning at breakfast I watch American Morning on CNN. And every morning on my way to work I listen to NPR. All of the news about Freddy, Fannie, AIG, $700 billion bail-outs (er, sorry, rescue plans), and the credit crisis have me thanking my lucky stars James and I have decided to be renters. It wasn’t a choice we made because of the economy, more the mobility, but now we’re glad we stuck to it. Not that owning a house is so bad right now — interest rates are low, foreclosures made for some great deals out there — but I know with all of the things going on with our lives (read: baby, job-hopping husband), I’m sooooo glad I don’t have to worry about selling a house. My poor parents-in-law are dealing with that right now, and I feel for them.

James got a call yesterday from one of the “guys upstairs”, essentially asking if he’d like to take the job at the Cave. We’re still waiting to hear official confirmation, but it sounds like he’s got it. So, yaaaaaay! Best of all, the job doesn’t start until next February, or possibly later, so he can keep his supervisor job (which starts Oct. 14th), and have that on his resume as well. I’ve concocted a new plan (#4593-45F, lol): We’re going to wait until November 1st to see if he gets a call for an interview with the training position in DC. If no call comes, then we’re going to start rental house hunting in Leawood, Overland Park, and Lee’s Summit, with the intention of moving in December (we can afford some overlap, so we can take most of the month to do it). That way Liam can have a proper bedroom, James will be closer to work, and I will hopefully get my much-needed automatic garage-door opener. Yes, I know, I almost always shoot myself in the foot by making a plan. But now more than ever, I feel like I need one.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. James sounds so much like Shane… Shane would love to job-hop like that if he could. He’s beyond thrilled with his current job because he changes projects every 2 weeks to 6 months – it’s a dream come true, the stability I want and need and for him it’s like a new job every few months!

    I’ve forced Shane into some semblance of security – buying a house, trying to get him to settle into at least a geographic location if not a job. 🙂 But if something major doesn’t change in our lives about every 6 months, Shane starts getting jittery… I feel it coming on in him and then *voila!* I come home one day and he’s suddenly rearranged all the furniture in the whole house because he just *had* to change something!

    Just a few days ago someone actually said to me “your life is like one huge life-altering decision after another, when do you get to just sit and enjoy the life you’ve made together?” The comment made me laugh. 🙂

    The constantly-changing lifestyle has its drawbacks, but sometimes it’s kind of fun, too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

