Christmas spirit? Or lack thereof.

December 24, 2008 at 4:57 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags:

It’s a mix between the poor economy and bigger things on our minds…its seems like everyone I talk to this season isn’t really into Christmas this year. I know my family cut back a bit on our Christmas spending. My poor parents had to buy a new furnace and hot water heater unexpectedly in the past month, and our moving costs and subsequent furniture splurge set us back quite a bit. I’m actually glad for the low-key holiday festivities. Except for one feverish day of hasty online shopping, and about an hour designing a holiday card I simply emailed to friends and family, my stress level is considerably lower this year. Tomorrow, James and I have a small pile of gifts from my mom and sister to open (mostly baby stuff, I’m hoping, since that’s what I asked for), then we’re off to the movies. Not because there’s anything we really want to see (we’ve settled on The Tale of Despereaux), but because I really need to get out of the house. Working from home definitely has it’s perks (no more public restrooms, huzzah!), but the major drawback is my shut-in status. It’s always worse in the winter, and complicated further by the holiday. I don’t want to go out in the cold, and I really, really don’t want to have to drive in the holiday traffic. So I’ve mostly been rattling around the house for a week. I did manage a trip to the store this morning, and I can’t describe the phenomenal difference having a car here is making. DC is a whole new city to me. I can already tell I’m much happier here this time around.

Adding to my uplifted spirits, James found the last of our Random Missing Things: our toothbrush stand and cup. The packers put it in a random box of audio books from the computer room. A small triumph, but uplifting nonetheless.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

