Wintertime woes

January 18, 2009 at 5:38 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

In the wee hours of the morning, our pipe in the guest bathroom burst. I was still up, of course, so I sent James running down the stairs to shut off the water main before the basement flooded. Some water got on the TV (sadly, the biggest and most expensive one), so we’ll see when it dries out if there was any damage. James ran the wet vac over the carpeting, and now we’ve got fans on it full blast, so hopefully it won’t mildew. The landlord came over in the morning to survey the damage, and with help from a plumber, they had the water back on by about 2 PM. Could have been worse, I suppose. At least we didn’t have to pay for it.

In the meantime, I’m bummed because we can’t hook up the DVR to tape our programs until the landlord comes back to fix the drywall and James can set up the TV downstairs again. You’d think with a new baby I’d have no time for TV, but I’ve found it just the opposite. All Liam really does is sleep and eat, and while he’s eating, I can’t really do anything else but listen to the radio or watch TV. So I’ve been listening to NPR podcasts in the morning, and watching TV pretty much all day and evening. It doesn’t help that I can’t be on my feet very long — though, I think that might be getting better. Slowly. I’m more of a hermit now than ever. It’s so cold outside, I’m not really bothered by it. Going outside is overrated 🙂

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

