What Dreams May Come

February 17, 2009 at 12:30 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

I had a dream the other night that I returned to work from maternity leave, and lots had changed. I went to my building in KS, which had undergone some major renovations. Attached to the boring 5-story facade was an incredibly high and shiny glass tower. The lobby was completely different, and somehow I ended up on an express elevator with a bunch of well-dressed strangers. Some lady with creepy long fingernails hit the button for the 69th floor, and we shot past the floor I needed. Then, as always happens in dreams, things got weirder. Our elevator shot out of the top of the building ala Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and we all ended up swimming in the Tidal Basin in front of the Jefferson Memorial. It was quite warm and refreshing. After drying off, I headed back to the building, got on the right elevator, and made it back to my cubicle. I told my staff everything that happened. They didn’t look surprised. Instead, the Hench Aussie replied, “yeah, a lot changed while you were gone.”

Indeed, there have been some changes, so my dream sort of makes sense. I was IM’ing some of my colleagues last week, and they filled me in on all of the structural changes to our company, which included a promotion for our boss, and might mean she won’t be our boss anymore. I’m not sure if that’s good or bad, but it’s certainly a big change. But not to the building, of course 🙂

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] My subconscious has a quirky way of making itself heard right before my biggest life changes. I had this doosy of a dream before I went back to work after maternity leave. Then last night I dreamt I was being […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

