Quit yer whining, mommy.

May 17, 2009 at 9:45 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

After my previous woe-is-me post, I decided to roll up my sleeves and do something about this lonely predicament I’ve found myself in. I scoured Meetup.com for more mommy and play groups, emailed some of the friends I haven’t seen, and ordered a couple of DC mommy guides. On Friday, Liam and I are going to a little infant/toddler music activity at the Wheaton Public Library, and then we’re having lunch with one of those friends I haven’t seen since i moved back. And i’m headed out to dinner on the 30th with the “Fun ‘N Hip Mommies” of Silver Spring. I found another group that also has some fun upcoming events. Between this and my planned trips to the zoo, the pool, the park, the museums, lunches out on Fridays, and whatever I find in my new books, my summer is looking happily busy and interactive.

I’m going to need all of this activity to distract me from the very disappointing fact that James will be traveling more than ever this summer. He came back briefly this weekend, then had to fly back out to Dallas this morning. He’s there until Saturday, home for a week while his dad is in town, then back out again for the first two weeks of June. Liam and I are going to meet him in San Antonio that first weekend in June to visit with his parents, sister, and grandpa. Let’s hope Liam does as well on the plane as he did in March.

Liam and i had a great weekend. We started Saturday morning at the Silver Spring Farmer’s Market, where I discovered they have a children’s storytime at the Borders every Saturday at 10AM. Will definitely be making a regular appearance there. We spent the rest of the day at home with daddy, who has a knack for making the boy giggle way better than I can. His trip home went way too fast, but at least we could say our goodbyes at the airport this time. Liam and I met up with Karen and Cameron from our nanny share for the Taste of Wheaton. All of the restaurants in downtown Wheaton have booths where you can sample their wares for $1 a piece. Mostly chinese and Salvadorian fare, and quite tasty. We missed the Wine Tasting Pavilion — will have to find that next year. Liam was great — despite not getting a proper nap, he sat facing forward in the Bjorn and just soaked it all in with silent rapture. Now he’s in bed early. Hooray! He’s finally (mostly) sleeping through the night swaddle-free. It only took a week for him to get used to it. Tomorrow we’re off to the doc’s for his wellness checkup. He’s been stuffy and coughing the last few weeks, and I’m thinking he might have allergies. poor kiddo.

Also, check out the new photos of the boy. He’s totally looking more like me now. Score one for mama.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey, on the sleeping front, if you haven’t read it already, you might read Baby Wise. Chance got both AJ and Abby sleeping through the night based off the info in that book and my cousin in trying it now. Abby goes down at like 9 p.m. and doesn’t get up til her bottle at 5:30 a.m. Chance said it only took three days for her to get on that schedule because you can set your baby’s (and yourself) sleeping schedule/habits.

    Fun on the expeditions. I’m still trying to decide what I want to do with my Fridays off. Maybe I’ll take a page from your book and look around for events. I plan on doing morning yoga, so I may just want to come home and chillax.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

