My first non-mom dinner

June 13, 2009 at 10:25 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Friday afternoon, after picking up James from the airport and gratefully leaving the boy with him, I took the Metro to Dupont Circle to meet my friend Beth for sushi at our favorite sushi hangout, Uni. I had about an hour to kill before dinner, so I caught up on my NPR podcasts and took a turn around an area of town I’ve not seen in a couple of years now. There were a few new additions, but it was mostly the same as I remembered. I sat in the park at the circle’s center and people-watched for awhile…envying the moms with their fancy Chicco strollers, admiring all of the cute dogs, and thinking I need to take Liam here on one of my Fridays off.

Sushi was amazing…we managed to snag a window seat, and the mango rolls were just as good as I remembered them. We split a caraf of chilled Pear sake, almost as smooth as white wine, and caught up — I haven’t had a chance to see Beth since I moved back. On our way back the to metro, we stopped for some truly decadent cupcakes at Hello Cupcake. I had the peanut butter blossom, which was basically a cupcake version of my very favorite cookie of the same name. A great way to cap off a lovely evening. Beth and I agreed we need to reinstate our monthly dinners — something we did when I lived here before. So next up in July we’re off to an Afghani place she loves…fondly nicknamed the pumpkin place. I can’t wait! (and I hope James is around to sit again!)

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

