Post Pregnancy Weight Gain

June 16, 2009 at 5:56 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments

So, i’m really not surprised this is happening. I have a kid, drop almost 30 lbs, breast-feed and burn calories for a couple of months, and now I’m noticing the bigger clothes I bought a couple of months ago are starting to get tight. I remember…hazy, as my sleep-deprived memory is getting these days…that I pledged to start up my yoga program. And I pledged to eat right. But James is traveling more than ever. and Liam is teething, so he’s hard to get to sleep (bedtime at 10), hard to stay asleep (fussy at 3) and he’s up at the literal ass-crack of dawn these days (5 AM). I spend all of my available free time either catching up on sleep or catching up on my DVR.

My weight gain is compounded by the fact that my bladder probs seem to have disappeared for good. Knock on wood…or adult diaper, whichever is handier. Without that painful bladder acting up at the first bite of sugar, eggs, sour cream, and practically everything else I love to eat, I’m in scarf-fest mode. I can drink dr. pepper! And have ketchup with my fries! And chocolate. Don’t get me started on chocolate. I know I need moderation, but between the stress of sleeplessness, loneliness, and feeling like a single mom, sometimes a little sugar goes a long way. And a lot goes even further.

So now I’m faced with the prospect of swimsuit shopping so I can take the boy for his very first outing to the pool on friday. I’m hoping one look in that torture device they call a dressing room mirror will scare me back on track. And if not, then I’ll need to come to terms with being the big white whale at the poolside.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Are there any “Mommy and Me” yoga classes out there?

  2. Yep, at 10 AM on Tuesdays, lol. Not really suitable for working moms. Besides, I went to a couple of classes, and squealing babies doesn’t make for a relaxing or enjoyable yoga session. think I’ll just have to practice at home.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

