My motherhood neurosis (the first of many, I’m sure)

July 2, 2009 at 10:12 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,

My mother worries. A lot. Too much. As a kid, and even as an adult, I tease her about it, but she’s always maintained that once I had my own kids, I would worry about them more than I ever thought I would. Whatever, mom.

Ok, so, she’s right. Liam is finally, blessedly, sleeping through the night once again, but I am not. I find myself waking three or four times a night in a panic, convinced that Liam is in the bed with us, and he’s getting crushed. I’m sure it’s a holdover from when I used to get up with him and bring him into the bed to cuddle him into submission. It always worked for him, but for me I was constantly waking up to make sure he was still securely in my arms. The fact that I’m prone to sleep walking and talking makes matters worse. Now that he’s sleeping through the night, I should have nothing to worry about. But for some reason, my wires have been crossed. Poor James…I punched him awake accusing him of flattening our kid the other night. I think I may have done it more than once that night. Or that’s what he says. My memory’s a little hazy. My bad, dear.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I do the exact same thing Amanda. It hasn’t gotten any better for me. Except I mistake Brian for Anna and try to “grab” her and think … why is she so heavy? It never ends.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

