So this is why my parents never went out…

July 23, 2009 at 9:04 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Being a member of several local “mommy” groups I get tons of invites every week, most of which I turn down. They’re either in the middle of the workday, or dinner too early in the evening, or require me to beg James to babysit. (After last weekend’s babysitting bonanza, I’ve been instructed I’m not allowed to leave the house again. Um, ever.) So when an invitation to kareoke night hit my inbox, I was like, “Suuweeet!” I haven’t been to a kareoke bar in ages, and I love me some beer and “Like a Virgin.”

So tonight Liam went to bed extra early like a good boy, James is vegging in the living room, and I’m free to drink and sing to my heart’s content. Except that it’s now 8:50, and I’m already a little tired, and this bar is a 30-minute drive away, and I don’t know anybody who’s going, and I know the later I stay out (and more I drink), the more I’ll be hurting at my relentless, manditory 6 AM wakeup call. And I’m thinking of all the things I could do tonight while the boy sleeps — watch The Kite Runner that’s been sitting on my DVR for a month, read the next book in my pile, or, god help me, go to bed early.

So I guess now I enter my lame period. I’m too tired and smitten with the boy to care.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Welcome to motherhood! Sucks, but we love it.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

