The Next Chapter. Want to Help Me Write It?

August 29, 2009 at 10:38 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments
Tags:

I like the sound of that. As they say, when life throws you lemons, you make lemonade. And when the company you’ve worked at for almost a decade lays you off, you start your own business. Or at least that’s my plan.

Yes, I am one more casualty in this downward spiral of an economy. The waning print publishing industry has taken its toll and left many jobless in its wake. I suppose I can take comfort that I wasn’t the only staff member let go in this round of layoffs, and that this had nothing to do with job performance. Simply put, my primary magazine is folding, and there’s not enough money to justify our salaries. Thankfully, some of my staff were spared, and I’m hoping they will keep on keeping on. The cuts were certainly deep, but it was all in an effort to survive.

So here I am, facing my last week at the only company I’ve ever worked for. Putting out the last issue of a magazine I’ve poured life into for the past seven years. Saying my goodbyes to colleagues I plan to count among my good friends for the rest of my days. Friday I have to pack up my computer and mail it back. The end.

But don’t feel too sorry for me. Nine years got me a good severance package, and I’ve decided to take this rare opportunity to do something I’ve been dreaming about for years…strike out on my own. I’ve been on the phone all weekend getting wonderful advice from those in the business, and I’ve managed to make some promising connections both in Kansas City and here in DC. I’m amassing an enormous to-do list, and realizing this will be no cake walk if I want to do it right. I’ve freelanced here and there before, but now it’s going to be my livelihood. Wow. Heavy. And daunting. But, seriously, when has daunting ever stood in my way?

I’m hoping you all can help me on this crazy new adventure. Right now I need a good name for my new business. I’ll be providing freelance graphic design for both print and web, so that includes publication covers, layouts, print advertisements, direct mail, brochures, business cards, logos, packaging design, signage, website graphics, e-newsletter design, and web banner ads. My print work resides at this website, which I’ll be updating with the other types of design work I’ve done. I need an identity that encompasses who I am and what I do. It could be a play on word with my name, or something completely outside the box. If you have any suggestions, please either email me or leave a comment.

And, of course, if you or anyone you know could use my particular skills in a design project, I’m open for business starting September 8.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Way to go Amanda! I just sent you my neighbors email…he got laid off from discovery and started his own consulting biz. I think he is on the TV side of things. Let me know if it works out!

  2. As much as I hate seeing you go. [sniff sniff] I’m very excited for you and what the future holds for you. You’re such a talented designer that you’ll have no problems getting the job done. I’ll let you know if inspirations strikes on a business name.

  3. AA Design…. AMAZING AMANDA!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

