I Fart in Your General Direction

September 4, 2009 at 10:01 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags: ,

I made egg salad for lunch yesterday, and I thought it was high time Liam try eggs. They say it’s best to start with egg yolks at 8 months, and try the egg whites at 12 months, because of possible allergy issues. So I saved some hard boiled yolk in a dish and put it in the fridge.

Then the fun began.

So, apparently eggs in the microwave, not a good idea. I figured I’d heat this up like I do all of his food from the fridge, but one massive explosion later, and I had egg yolk on every surface of the damn microwave. Not to be detered, I took what remained of the dish and spooned some out to Liam. He gave me this look like, “Seriously, this isn’t food, right?” And he had a point. It was more like egg yolk crumbles, and I could tell it was too dry for him. After about five spoonfuls, he looked at me, pursed his lips, and spit it all back out at me. Nice, son.

Still determined to make this work, I added a little water and some brown rice mix. Then I had this curdy, liquidy, mushy egg yolk/rice concoction that even I thought looked gross. But Liam wolfed down his pureed ham the night before (imagine liquid spam in a jar), so the gross factor clearly doesn’t deter him. I gave him a spoonful and, nope, this wasn’t going to work. So I gave up and fed him sweet potatoes and bananas, at which he eager chomped away. Afterward he was such an eggy mess (remember those lint-trap chins of his) that we just stripped him down to his diaper to play on the floor.

Time for more fun. Egg farts. Gross.

Needless to say, we’ll be giving eggs a wide berth for awhile.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. curdy, liquidy, mushy egg yolk/rice concoction

    Did you mean curdy or crudy?

    • heh heh, both.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

