Let the Whining Commence

September 15, 2009 at 2:52 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Seriously, this does get easier, yes? Motherhood: cake. Freelancing: freakin’ hard. Last week I was all about designing my website. Which was loads of fun. This week has been all about networking. Not so much fun. All of this has happened at such a break-neck speed, and all the while there’s this clock ticking away the weeks of my severance, a constant reminder that I’m on a deadline. And I feel like I’m working at cross purposes — on the one hand, I want to be a successful designer, get good clients, make a name for myself. On the other, I want to be a good mom, take more time to spend with Liam. The other day Alice pointed out a little scrape on Liam’s face. I don’t fault her at all, of course, but it breaks my heart to not know where he got it. That it wasn’t on my watch. That I drop him off every morning so I can sit at my computer emailing, checking out websites, reaching out to people, when I’d so much rather be with him. I’m sure every working mom goes through this. And I hear about some of these stay-at-home moms who desperately miss their careers. I don’t want that, either. What the heck do I want? My cake, and to eat it, too, apparently.

So today I went to an Enterprising Moms meetup, a networking breakfast over in VA. I didn’t know about it until yesterday afternoon, so I hurriedly designed business cards, printed out and cut them, created a “leave behind” of my work, updated my portfolio, picked out some suitable business attire, and arranged with Alice to drop off Liam early. I rode over with another mom, but with traffic and whatnot, we were late. Still, I did get to hear most of the speakers, and they had a great mix of business advice and motherhood tips. I left my cards on the table, only talked to one other person, and only gave out one of my “leave behinds.” My cards were a little flimsy, but i figured better to have something to show. I learned a lot, but I don’t think I made very many connections. I did pick up a bunch of business cards to follow up with. I’m doing another of these events tomorrow, so maybe I’ll do better. Or maybe I’ll just crawl into a bed, put the covers over my head, and wish for another full-time job.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I’m sure those mothers wth a career requires a certain mindset. I’m sure they’d want to stay home with their kids too. I know my sister enjoys both sides, and is thankful that she gets some weeks off to be with her kids full time. After that, she goes into career mom. Liam will suffer lots of bumps and bruises…that you won’t be able to account for. That will happen…just as life does. Just know you’re doing your best and giving all your love to that little man.

    As far as your business. I bow to you. It takes guts and courage to strike out on your own…and so quickly when it wasn’t part of your long-term plans. I’m sure if you ever want to get back into a full-time postion where a company takes care of you, I’m sure you’ll be able to find that position. Until then, enjoy this opportunity and, forgive me for saying this but: shoot for the stars. I’ve never know anyone who works so tirelessly at what they want even when it’s not the easiest solution (a nanny share in a new city for example). You can certainly do this. I have faith in you!

  2. Oh, and reward yourself with chai lattes. They’re there for a reason!

    • and afternoons at the movies. I’ve decided Thursday is movie day. No ifs, ands, or buts.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

