Focus. Seriously.

September 29, 2009 at 2:13 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags:

I bought this daily planner thing, and every day I list out all of the things I need to do that day for the new business. And I still feel unfocused. I’m wondering how long it’s going to take before I feel like I’m really doing this. I’m really in it. Maybe it would help if I list out all of the things I’ve actually accomplished instead of getting all blurry-eyed and nervous staring at all the things I have yet to do. I designed my logo and picked out a name for my business: Amanda Fletcher Design. I was going to rack my brain to come up with something fantastic, something original and inspiring. But I decided the best way to market myself is through my name. It’s easy to spell, the domain name is available, and I’d prefer to think of myself as an independent designer rather than the owner of a graphic design business. There will be time for that…perhaps when I’m not in the throws of early motherhood. Right now I just want to get the bills paid and spend time with my baby while he’s still a baby. And avoid going on food stamps.

Ok, I’m being melodramatic. We have plenty in savings, and I’m looking into Self Employment Assistance through the Maryland Unemployment office next week. So no need to start panhandling just yet.

Focus. Ok. I’ve ordered paper samples from various business card printers. I’ve finished my website, and my new URL and new email will be live very soon. I’ve gotten pages and pages of advice from other graphic designers. I’ve read books on starting my business and pricing and ethics standards. I’ve set up a Letter of Engagement template to use as a contract for smaller clients. Ha ha, all of my clients are small right now.

Focus. I signed up for a web design course at Montgomery College that starts next Monday. I finished one job for a client, sent the bill, and already received a check. Good client. Good. I’ve sent out emails to people I know, asking to forward my information on. I’ve called and left messages with people. I haven’t followed up. I hate calling people. I really do.

Focus. I created job hunting profiles on Discovery Channel’s website, National Geographic, USAjobs. I thought best to hedge my bets, though I doubt I’ll have any time to follow up on these. I got some great advice on applying for governement contracts. I hired an accountant and met with him on Monday to go over everything I need to do to prepare for taxes. I’ve kept an organized filing system for receipts, tax-deductable bills, and folders for each client or potential client. I checked out Lynda.com for software training. I’ve bookmarked websites about printing services, local freelance and women’s business organizations, design tutorials, government contract bidding. And I bet I’ve done more that I can’t think of right now.

Man, that seems like a lot of stuff to get done in three weeks. So why does it feel like I’ve hardly done anything?

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. There was an ad for a graphic designer at a LS company in the LS Tribume today. Hmmmmmmmmmmm.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

