Things I Want to Remember, Part 1

October 3, 2009 at 11:25 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
Tags:

Dear Liam,
You’re growing so fast. I wish I could freeze this moment in time forever, but this will have to do. These are the things I want to remember about you right now, at nine months old. The little things I will likely forget. The things I want you to know about yourself someday. Like how proud you are to get to ride in the shopping cart at the grocery store, and how everyone we pass by makes a comment about how cute you are. You hardly ever cry, you just look around at everything and everyone. Right now we’re taking a baby yoga class on Monday mornings, and while some days you like it and some days you don’t, you always, always love to lay upside down on the bolster, more than any other kid in the class. You just lie there peacefully, like a perfect little yogi. Your favorite song is Row Row Row Your Boat. It’s the first song you’ve shown a real preference for, and not something I just sung to you since you were itty bitty. I sing to you a lot. I love to do it, and it almost always dries your tears. Your eyes are a stunning shade of blue, and daddy and I are sad that they might change. You love to stand up, and you’ll lock your legs when we try to sit you down. You’re getting quite daring now, letting go of my legs to stand on your own, just for a second before you grab on again or fall on your butt. You hate falling down…oh the agony! And you hate getting stuck on your belly. Somehow you always go from sitting and playing nicely to on your tummy and wailing. Some days Daddy and I wish you could crawl. And some days we’re very glad that you can’t. You love pushing buttons, and you’re so obsessed with the TV remote that we gave you one of your own. We watch a lot of TV with you, probably too much. Sometimes you watch it — you loved Kung Fu Panda — and sometimes you completely ignore it. You love your new word, da da. I’m not even jealous that you said that first, it’s so sweet when you say it. You love to eat! You’re getting to be quite the portly little fellow. And you love your baths, just like Daddy does. At night, when we’re rocking in the chair and I’m giving you your bottle, we listen to Simon & Garfunkel, Eric Clapton, the Beatles, Wicked, and Doctor Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog. This music will forever remind me of you, right now, at this moment. I’d say, “Don’t Change,” but I know you will. It’s ok. That’s what babies do.

Love Always,
Mommy (c’mon, you can say it. Ma-ma)

See the rest of our photos I took at the park Friday.

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. So sweet. I love Lifelong Playdate’s little blog that’s nothing but letters to her daughter. Apparently she lives close to me…makes me wish I had a kid just to have an excuse to go hang out with her. Liam is adorable in those pictures. Look at those teethers. I love that you sing to him. I have to say, I do the same thing when I’m with Abby and AJ. I’m not naturally a singer, but babies have already made me want to sing to them. What great memories! I can’t believe Liam is 9 months. In some ways I feel like he’s growing up fast, but then I also feel like you’ve had him in your life for the longest time. Strange, huh? Wish I could see him in yoga. I can’t wait to do that with my own child someday. 🙂

  2. Awww, very touching! What a sweet post.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

