A trip to the zoo

October 11, 2009 at 9:44 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , , ,

Lions and Tigers and Bears, Oh My! Actually, just the lions. And the Oh My! Liam and I had our first trip to the National Zoo this morning. We were supposed to meet up with one of my mom’s groups, but we were a little late, so it ended up being just Liam and I. We stuck to the big animals, seeing as Liam was mostly more interested in the people around us than the animals, lol. We saw two pandas, two elephants, two lions, a handful of gorillas, one high-flying orangutan, and a whole mess of gorillas. My favorite was the new baby gorilla, who was clutching onto her mommy’s fur as she circled their enclosure. I picked up Liam so he could see, and I said, “Look, it’s just like us! Except I’m less hairy.” There was one male silver back who kept chasing the others around. Quite a show! Also quite a show was the orangutan we saw climbing above the walkway on a rope they had strung across a line of towers. The apes could move freely from one enclosure to another above the park. Liam, of course, was too interested in clapping and blowing raspberries to look up. When we finally arrived at the prairie dogs, which I was sure he’d love (just like his dad), he’d fallen fast asleep! Being the thoughtful mom I am, I parked us at a nearby bench to let him sleep, and we got to see them when he woke up. I was like, “Loooook (pointing), he’s right there.” And Liam would look at my finger. And then the little boy next to us. When we got to the pandas, I got all excited because it was less crowded than I’ve ever seen it, and we had a wonderfully clear view of both of them. I pointed out, “Look, like Kung Fu Panda!” Some lady came up next to us to shoot photos, and Liam was way more fascinated with her camera. So, ok, I guess Liam’s a little too young to enjoy the zoo just yet. But James has promised he’ll come along next spring or summer, and I bet Liam will be more interested in the animals then.

In other news, James and I christened our new slow cooker today. We bought a wonderfully simple slow-cooker cookbook, something with “five ingredients or less” in the title, and we made a scrumptious cranberry pork tenderloin. I whipped up some instant potatoes, stuffing, and frozen corn in no time, and because of Liam’s late nap, we were actually able to fit in dinner before he woke up. Sweet! On Wednesday I’m headed back to Let’s Dish to try a couple of slow-cooker meals. We learned a lesson from last time — best to pick either the slow cook meals or the ones with the simplest preparation instructions. Dinner time is so hard with a baby! I’m sure it’ll get easier once he’s eating our food…maybe. We’re also incredibly lazy cooks, so that doesn’t help.

Grandpa Marvin turns 80 next weekend, and my mom and aunt have planned a huge family party. We’re headed to KC on Friday for the festivities. Liam will get to meet cousins, second cousins, third cousins, great-grandparents, great aunts, the whole shabang. And, best of all, he’ll get to sample some Kansas City barbecue sauce, now that he’s old enough. I’m sure that will make the most lasting impression, heh. We can’t wait!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Hey Mandy – In case you’re interested, I came across this blog recently for more recipe ideas for the slow cooker. http://crockpot365.blogspot.com/
    Enjoy!!
    Cute photo and stories of Liam’s weekend adventures!
    Talk soon, -C


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

