Eulogy

October 26, 2009 at 8:44 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags:

My grandpa died on Saturday. He was a sweet old man, always telling stories, always fixing things, never sitting still. He painted houses for a living until he couldn’t get up on ladders anymore. He mowed the lawn until the family said he shouldn’t. Always on the go. I thought he’d live to be 100. But 87 is pretty good, too. I saw him last November when we drove through Indiana on our way to DC. I was 7 months pregnant. I’m sad he never got to meet Liam. We were planning to visit this Thanksgiving (still are), and it won’t feel the same there without him. I’m finding out today what the funeral arrangements are. I’m going to try to go if I can. I wish we didn’t live so far away. In this case, living in Kansas City wouldn’t have helped much.

Someone once commented how lucky I am to have so many of my grandparents still living. A lot of my friends hardly even knew their grandparents before they passed away. I had a great-grandmother pass away when I was 8, and I remember feeling tremendously guilty that I was sadder over the death of our pet bird. Now that I’m an adult, I’m getting to know my grandparents as real people, instead of the authority figures and adult playmates we saw them as when we were children. So when faced with a death, I think it’s much harder to bear than if it had happened when I was a child. Now I’m seeing their perspective through the eyes of my own experience as a mother. And realizing how precious every moment with my family is. Neither of my grandmothers has met Liam, but with upcoming trips in November and February, we’ll be setting that straight soon. Hopefully soon enough.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sorry for your loss. I agree that seeing death is harder as an adult, and maybe that’s because we’re closer to the experience age-wise. I hope Liam gets to know all of his family! Family really is the greatest thing! I hope you are able to go to the funeral. I’ve missed quite a few funerals in my lifetime (mainly by choice. too much death wears on a person’s body.), so if you can’t make it, I hope you find a way to grieve and honor your grandfather in your own way.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

