Jury Duty Bust, and Snow Snow Snow!

December 18, 2009 at 10:40 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

So I got to the Maryland Circuit Court building, which was nothing like I pictured it — no mahogany benches, just utilitarian gray carpet and chairs. We sat through a 15-minute video detailing the jury process, and how important it is we are doing our civic duty. Then the woman in charge said there was one big case they were seating jurors for that would last for at least three days next week, and might even spill over to the following Monday. And I realized the timing of this really stank — I’ve gone weeks without any appreciable freelance work, and I’m lined up to do some work for Penton next week. Enough to pay for a new TV for our bedroom. Merry Christmas to us. And this could ruin everything. Thankfully, there was an easy out. With the holidays next week, she said those with vacation plans could let her know, and we’d be exempt from that case. So I stood in line, rehearsing exactly how I was going to, erm, bend the truth (in a court of law, I know, shameful!). But then as I approached the end of the line, she wasn’t giving anyone the third degree. Just juror number and dates we would be unavailable. Then I sat back down and read my book, waiting to hear if there would be anymore cases called. She explained that they also do “instant jury selection”, in which a case for that day gets handed in and they need a steady pool of jurors to pick from for that case. One did come in at about 2:30, but I was again passed over. And at three she announced that we could all go home, not to be called again for at least three years. I picked up my check ($15.00, woo-hoo!) and headed home. I’m a little disappointed I didn’t get called — I was hoping for all that trouble and waiting around I’d at least get to sit in on a one-day civil suit. But, if it had turned into a longer case, it would have been terribly inconvenient for us. Not only for my freelance work, but also affording childcare for Liam on the days I’d be gone. $15 a day would hardly cover that.

In other news, I’ve been a baking fiend this week, baking several dozen of my favorite cookies, Peanut Butter Blossoms. You know, the peanut butter cookies with the Hershey Kisses? I’ve got, like, 100 of them, all ready to go to a mommy group cookie swap tomorrow. And wouldn’t you know it, they’re calling for the blizzard of the century. Well, maybe not quite that bad, but they’re saying we’ll have a foot on the ground by the time this party starts. It hasn’t started snowing yet, but they say it should start getting heavy around midnight. A one hundred percent chance of snow. It doesn’t look good. So James may be taking six dozen or so cookies to work on monday, lol. Lest I eat them all myself.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

