Batten down the hatches

February 4, 2010 at 12:23 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment
Tags: ,

The sky is falling, the sky is falling! Or that’s what the local weatherguy would lead you to believe. Though, after looking at this map, I have a feeling we’re in for a lot of shoveling this weekend. James is bummed the snow is hitting Friday. He wanted a snow day. Judging from last time, he may still get it on Monday. I’m not taking any chances — I hit the store yesterday, so we’re all stocked up. Shouldn’t need to leave the house this weekend at all.

Liam’s been a fussy butt lately. It’s so frustrating when they can’t tell you what’s the matter. The other day he woke up from his afternoon nap in the foulest mood. First I thought teething, so we tried some baby Oragel. Then I thought stomach ache, so we tried some gas medicine. He wouldn’t let me put him down, but he clearly wasn’t happy being carried, either. I had my iPod on shuffle, and I noticed he’d quiet down whenever one of his toddler songs came on, so I switched to one of his albums, and suddenly he stayed quiet. Was the music the problem all along?! Or maybe one or the other medicine finally kicked in? I’ll never know.

Liam’s also getting more finicky about his diet. I suspected he was getting tired of eating the same old baby food, so I picked up some new finger foods (Melba toast, animal crackers, and veggie chips to name a few). And this morning we tried a new recipe I found on WholesomeBabyfood.com: Banana Pancakes. The recipe’s simple — just slice up some bananas, dip them in buckwheat pancake batter, and cook like a mini pancake. They were a huge hit. I’m calling them “Nanacakes” because I can get Liam to say “Nana.” I had enough leftover batter to make myself a pancake for breakfast, and man, oh, man, was it tasty! This was a honey buckwheat flavor mix, and I guess because I’ve always equated buckwheat to health food, I thought it wouldn’t taste very good. But I’ll take this over Bisquick any day! This afternoon I’m trying another finger food recipe: broccoli and cheddar cheese nuggets. Yum!

Balancing the checkbook has become a juggling act, transferring money from my unemployment account and pulling in money from savings to cover when unemployment doesn’t pay out. I found out the hard way that if I make more on a freelance job than my weekly allowance they freeze my account and i have to call to reactivate it. So we missed a few weeks of bennies. We should be fine — plenty in savings — but it’s annoying because on paper we should be easily making ends meet with these weekly payouts. Trouble is, if I do any work for anyone, I have to report it, even though I typically don’t get paid for that work for another 30 or so days. James and I have cut way down on eating out, and we’re doing our best to curb our spending in other areas. I listened to this very informative podcast on NPR about getting the best deal on cars, credit cards, and all sort of things. One piece of advice I followed up on was to contact my cable company to see if I could get a better price. Our bill is ridiculously high, and I’ve been steeling myself up for the idea of canceling our movie channels to save money. (If I can just get through this season of HBO’s Big Love, I think I can handle it.) But it turns out all I had to do was sign a 2-year contract and they put me on a plan that would save us $40 a month! And we ended up with more channels and faster internet! The bill is still pretty high, but we can down grade to an even cheaper package if we need to later. Sweet!

I’ll leave you with this amusing video I shot last night. Apparently Liam has a mad face, accompanied by heavy breathing, lol.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

