Liam started signing!

February 6, 2010 at 9:56 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

Two days ago I asked Liam if he wanted more or if he was all done with dinner. And he did the sign for all done! I thought it was a fluke, but he’s been doing it with every meal since. What a smart boy I have! But not such a smart mom, apparently. At lunch yesterday Karen mentioned that Cam could do the sign for all done, but it was different than what I taught Liam. Cam does a little so-so motion with his hand, and I taught Liam to sweep his hand across his chest, like an umpire calling safe. I looked it up online, and sure enough, I taught him the wrong sign! I have no idea where I got the idea that all done was that sweep with the hand. But it’s too late to rectify. Oh, well. As long as I know what he’s saying, it shouldn’t matter, right?

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You could make them all up yourself and it wouldn’t matter for the most part. Unless of course you know other people who know sign language that might think they know what he is trying to communicate. We used a baby sign for help that is nothing like the real sign for help, but since we had to teach grandparents and others, it really didn’t matter.

    You could also teach him both (maybe not right now, but in a few months), just like you will teach him words that mean the same thing like small and little.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

