It’s over…for now

February 12, 2010 at 5:04 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

From what I hear on the news, Washington and surrounding areas beat a century-old snowfall record this week. I believe it. James went back to work today, and despite the cold Liam and I caught, we managed a trip to the store. The snow is piled so high at intersections that I can barely see the oncoming traffic. A watermain broke near the store, and I had to take a wide detour to get home. Thankfully Liam napped in the car. He needs his sleep today, poor runny-nosed guy. Two metro cars derailed at 10 AM on the Red line, the line James takes to get home, so his commute back could be challenging. Coming to pick him up won’t do any good — from what I hear, most three-lane thoroughfares in the city are down to one lane. As stir crazy as I am, I’m glad we’ve got a three-day weekend ahead. Hopefully travel will be easier next week. James heads back to work Tuesday and Wednesday, and then we’re off to Ohio and Illinois for a week-long visit with family. Crossing my fingers the worst of the winter weather is behind us.

Check out some photos from the neighborhood I took today. The last big storm that came through in December, which dumped 18″ on us, melted much faster than I thought it would, inside of a week. I wanted to get some photos of these crazy snow piles before they disappear.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

