All Around Good Day

February 25, 2010 at 11:27 am | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags:

Fearing another big storm, I planned an outing for Liam and I yesterday. Our days are still fairly brisk, so I opted for an indoor playground I heard about called The Family Room in Downtown Silver Spring. Admission for Liam was only $7 for an all-day pass. He’s still a little too young to play with other kids, but he delighted in riding on toy cars, playing with plastic food, sliding on the slides, and ringing the doorbell on the playhouse. They had a little grocery store with items and grocery carts, dress-up clothes, this cool race car toy for the older kids, and lots of games, puzzles, and books. They had an art room – Liam tried to eat the colored pencils, so we’ll have to try that one later. His very favorite toy, though, was the toy piano. He sat there, banging away at the keys, just smiling ear to ear and giggling. In my head I’m picturing Liam as a famous concert pianist, and I’m telling other people about the first time Liam discovered music when he was only one year old! Ha ha.

We took a little lunch break at Noodles & Co., where Liam surprised me by eating beef, Udon noodles, broccoli, and mushrooms. I’m wondering if his picky eating was related to his recent illnesses, and now that he’s better, dinner is on? He didn’t like the bean sprouts, but that’s understandable.

Across the street from The Family Room, the new outdoor space and civic center is finally taking shape. It’s been under construction for the past year. Apparently it’s set to open this summer, and in the winter they’ll have ice skating. Very cool.

To top off my wonderful day, I found out we’re getting a whopper of a tax refund this year. I was figuring we’d owe, so this was a big surprise. I’ve decided to move up my plans to visit KC, and I’m looking for some affordable flights for early April. And I plan on going for a longer stay in July. Stay tuned!

And more good news, my good friend Charissa has booked her flight to DC, and we’ll be hitting the town in late March. I can’t wait!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Just like his MaMa, a piano player! Next time you are here, he will have to play Mama’s baby grand! Love ya all and can’t wait to see Liam. Oh and of course you and James!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

