Spring has sprung

April 10, 2010 at 11:55 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags: , ,

Maryland turned green while I was away. Liam and I walked to his doctor’s appointment Thursday amid scores of flowering trees and raining cherry blossoms. Such a lovely walk for such a stressful visit. No worries – everything with Liam is fine (you can see his stats if you want), but he’s smart enough now to equate the doctor’s office with those nasty needles, and he threw an absolute fit the whole time we were there. And, of course, we ended the visit with shots, just to reaffirm his fears. Sigh. Afterward we played in the park, and you’d never know he’d been so unhappy just 15 minutes prior.

I made a wonderful discovery today. We had a sub for Donna’s Yoga I class at Blue Heron this morning, and it was as if this new teacher was channeling Emily Darling! I’ve been to several studios here in DC, but none has ever measured up to my favorite studio in KS. I’m looking for the right balance of chanting, teaching style, and relaxation, and while I really love Donna’s style and sense of humor, I find that none of the yoga instructors do much with physically guiding us deeper into poses. Kristin, today’s sub, did a wonderful job correcting my poses, and even did a neck massage with Lavendar oil while we were in shavasana. Mmmmm, nice. I had a chat with her after class, and turns out she has a studio in Georgetown called Lil Omm. I figured I’d have to beg James to drive me down there next weekend to check it out, but even better – they offer child care for some of their weekday classes! It’s a little further for me to drive, but would totally be worth it if I could go during the week sometimes. Think I’ll check it out next week.

In other news, I’m officially off unemployment. Penton has offered me some regular part-time work, and I’ve decided it’s too much of a hassle to keep reinstating my unemployment benefits account on the weeks I’m not doing any work. James is getting his big raise in about a month, and it’s high time we start tightening our belts. We went a little bonkers spending our tax refund, but now that sanity has returned, I’ve decided to get organized and open us each our own spending accounts that we’ll use for personal purchases. We’re cutting off the movie channels just as soon as the last season of the Tudors has aired…and maybe True Blood, if we get sucked into that again (pun intended, lol). I’ve also been doing some research on housing prices and closing costs in our area, and it’s frightening to say the least. But attainable, as long as we can build up our savings again. I figure if in another year James has heard zilch about these overseas positions, we should get started on our house hunt. I have a feeling it’s going to take us a long while to find a house we can afford in a neighborhood we like that can fit all of James’s books, lol.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] at 1:59 pm | In Uncategorized | Leave a Comment Tags: baby, yoga Weeks and weeks ago I met this wonderful yoga teacher, and I’ve been trying so hard to attend her class. They offer babysitting (yay!), but her class […]


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

