Celena, Queen of the Desert

April 21, 2010 at 11:44 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

My good friend Celena was in town this week for a conference, so Liam and I took the train down to meet with her, her mother-in-law, and her bundle of joy, Ellie. You may remember our little IM chat about nine months ago on the day Ellie was born. I finally got to meet the fruit of her labors! Ellie was all personality, very inquisitive, with a shock of black hair, teeny tiny and just soooo flippin’ cute. Just like her mama!

Liam wasn’t quite sure what to make of Ellie. Or any of them, for that matter. He’s still going through his stranger danger phase. At one point Ellie snagged his sippy cup, and he erupted in tears and scrambled over to me. Geez, son, you’re like twice her size. Things were better once Ellie was in her sling and Liam was in the Boba. He could admire everyone from afar, while still riding comfortably on my back. I was pleased to see Celena feels the same way I do about strollers. We easily navigated the Metro down to the Mall, took a stroll around the Tidal Basin to the Jefferson Memorial (regretfully covered in ugly cranes and construction barriers at the moment), then back up to the WWII monument. No more cherry blossoms to admire, unfortunately, but it was still a nice walk.

For dinner I took them to Heritage India at Dupont Circle. I’d been there a few years before, and it was even better than the last time I’d gone. Liam, true to form, gobbled up the food I brought for him (the Just Peas and Just Corn were a big hit with both the kids), refused to eat the lentils I ordered for him (to his credit, they were pretty spicy), and then cried to be picked up just as my food arrived. Ellie sat contented while we ate…oh, how I miss those days! I spent the rest of the meal chasing Liam around the restaurant. At least I got some good leftovers.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

