Hobbylistless

May 10, 2010 at 2:15 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

That’s my new word: Hobbylistless. It means one without hobbies because one is too lazy to procure any. Although I’m not sure if lazy is the correct term for me. Apathetic, perhaps? Either way, I’m not without guilt over the prospect of having no outside interests besides this toddler I’m running after these days. My friends Chance and Julie both have healthy obsessions with their sewing machines. In addition to sewing our clothes, my mother always had a craft project or home improvement scheme up her sleeves. Last night I finally saw Julie & Julia, which got me thinking about cooking as a hobby. But, alas, cooking, sewing, and crafting don’t interest me. At all. Neither does exercising, gardening, car repair, or carpentry. I’m an artist (er, sort of), so what about painting or drawing? Unfortunately, work like that takes inspiration, which is in short supply for me these days. Is TV-watching a hobby? I do an awful lot of that. And some light reading. And I listen to a lot of NPR. Yeah, those don’t sound like hobbies to me, either. Hobbylistless. Sigh.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Sorry, I need to disagree with you. Blogging & child photography are hobbies!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

