Girlfriends for Liam

May 11, 2010 at 2:42 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Internet, what would I ever do without you? Thanks to Meetup.com, Liam and I traipse around the city and suburbs meeting other moms and kids. I’ve been going to these things for awhile, but with the warmer weather the activities calendars have really picked up. And while before I would meet one mom here, one mom there, and not see them again, now I’m finally feeling a connection to some of these ladies and their offspring. For instance, today I met up with a new group of Metro-Saavy moms at the DC Aquarium (which, BTW, is better than it was a few years ago.), and one of the moms and I paired off and got to know each other. Her little girl is only a month younger than Liam, and she’s a shorty just like him. Liam’s getting to an age where he actually acknowledges other children around him, so when we put the kids next to each other, he smiled and pointed. He even took her hand for a minute, like, “Hi, how are you, pretty lady?” Yep, Liam’s got the moves. Not that he needs them. Now that Karen and Cameron have moved away, just about all of the other moms I’ve been meeting up with have daughters. Liam’s got so many little girlfriends now! He’s quite the charmer. Watch out, girls!

Thursday we’re off to Rockville to see Mr. Knick Knack at the mall. Last time we went Liam wasn’t walking yet, and he clung to me the whole time. I’m hoping he’ll come out of his shell a little bit this time. I’ve met with these moms a few times before…and you guessed it, all have daughters. Afterward we’ll probably play at the Pottery Barn Kids…an unlikely playground, but Liam absolutely loved it last time. Saturday we’re going to a birthday party for a little girl we met in yoga class; his first birthday party to attend, in fact! And next weekend I’m looking forward to seeing Julie and her lil’ bundle Sydney, who has grown by leaps and bounds since I saw her last. Girls, girls, girls!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

