Playdate at the Arboretum

May 14, 2010 at 9:56 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Today Liam and I enjoyed the beautiful spring weather at the Arboretum. We met up with a group for lunch, but because the organizer had to cancel at the last moment, it was just me and one other mom. That was just fine with us – her oldest boy was only a couple of months older than Liam, and they had fun running around in the grass chasing balls. She had another son, just six months old, and I noticed she didn’t eat anything…wonder if that comes with the territory? Her oldest was certainly keeping her on her toes, a very inquisitive and active little boy. Liam did his best stumbling around in the grass, and I’m proud he was able to get around as well as he did.

Azalias5

After lunch we said our goodbyes, and I strapped Liam into the Boba for a short hike up memory lane. Four years ago, almost to the day, I made my first trip to the Arboretum and discovered this beautiful trail through a forest of Azaleas. At the time I had never even heard of Azaleas, and I serendipitously arrived right at their peak. I remembered as I was hiking up that there was this cool view of the capitol building at the top of this hill, but surely it was too far, and I wouldn’t remember the way. But once I passed this stump that I had photographed before (at right), I knew I was on the right track. Sure enough, I remembered exactly where to turn, and there we were! The view was better than I remembered – I could see the capitol dome, the Washington Monument, and a blue haze of downtown Arlington high-rises. On my way back down Liam fell fast asleep (it kills me that he can sleep on my back!), but it was just as well. Due to the weird winter and spring we’ve had, the Azaleas peaked weeks ago, so there were very few flowers left to see. Ha ha, as if Liam cares about flowers.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

